Social Media Matters: Magazine announces 25 funniest people on Twitter

Social Media MattersSocial Media Matters
By Brian Cormier
Moncton Times & Transcript
Friday, Sept. 14, 2012
Metro section

Magazine announces 25 funniest people on Twitter

On Sept. 10, Rolling Stone magazine published a list of the 25 people who they consider to be the funniest on Twitter. You may have heard of some these individuals, many of them comedians. A few of them, however, are definitely not household names. One of them is even anonymous!

If you’re looking to have your funny bone tickled, be sure to follow these folks on Twitter. (Just a warning: Some of their humour is definitely not family friendly!) 1) Rob Delaney (@robdelaney) – comedian and columnist; 2) Stephen Colbert (@Stephenathome) – TV host; 3) Sarah Silverman (@SarahKSilverman) – comedian, actress, writer; 4) Patton Oswalt (@pattononswalt) – comedian, writer, actor.

5) Tracy Morgan (@RealTracy-Morgan) – comedian, actor; 6) Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) – creator of TV series Girls; 7) Joan Rivers (@Joan_Rivers) – comedian, actress, writer; 8) Kelly Oxford (@kellyoxford) – TV writer; 9) Sean Tejaratchi (@ShittingtonUK) – graphic designer; 10) Julieanne Smolinski (@boobsradley) – columnist, blogger.

11) George Wallace (@MrGeorge-Wallace) – comedian, actor; 12) Tom Scharpling (@scharpling) – radio host, TV writer; 13) Michael Ian Black (@michaelianblack) – actor, writer, comedian; 14) Morgan Murphy (@morgan_murphy) – comedian, TV writer; 15) Blaine Capatch (@blainecapatch) – comedian.

16) Chelsea Peretti (@chelseavperetti) – comedian, TV writer; 17) Scotty (@marylandmudflap) – anonymous; 18) Jenny Johnson (@jennyjohnsonhi5) – writer; 19) Jim Gaffigan (@jimgaffigan) – comedian, actor; 20) Jon Wurster (@jonwurster) – drummer.

21) Megan Amram (@meganamram) – TV writer, whose sample tweet in the Rolling Stone report made me laugh out loud. “There’s literally no way to know how many chameleons are in your house.” Clever, to say the least!; 22) Paula Pell (@perlapell) – Saturday Night Live writer; 23) Neal Brennan (@nealbrennan) – comedian, writer, director; 24) Alec Sulkin (@thesulk) – Family Guy writer-producer; 25) Julie Klausner (@julieklausner) – writer, podcast host.

David Akin’s Twitter directory

David Akin
David Akin

If you’re looking for an excellent compendium of Twitter account listings for everything federal government-related, look no further than Sun Media national bureau chief David Akin, who’s collected a list he calls Canadian Political Twits: Hashtags and Organizations and generously posted it to his website. This is a great list, so be sure to check it out!

The list includes Twitter accounts for the monarchy, governor general, members of Parliament, media folks who report on federal politics, as well as a very helpful list of hashtags related to a number of federal areas, including House of Commons (#HOC), 42nd general election (the next election) (#elxn42) and the federal Liberal Party leadership race (#LPCLdr), among many others.

This is an invaluable resource for those interested in following all things federal government related in Canada.

Facebook hoaxes

If you receive an e-mail asking you to confirm your Facebook account, don’t do it. It’s just someone wanting your log-in information. Ignore and delete! The e-mails subject line may read “Confirm your account on Facebook” and the first line may read “You joined Facebook, but you still haven’t confirmed your account.” If you see a Facebook friend sharing a link about actor Morgan Freeman’s death, please do them a favour and tell them it’s a hoax. The rumour’s been running rampant online for several days. Freeman is alive and well.

This week’s featured YouTube channels

Every week, I feature three YouTube channels for you to check out. This week, I feature a local makeup artist and channels related to my summer guilty pleasure, Big Brother! Statistics are current to Sept. 11.

1) Debby Clements Makeup Artist (8 subscribers): Debby is a Moncton-based makeup artist who works full-time consulting and providing makeup services to individuals and groups, including wedding parties. Her channel boasts 13 videos with a total of 895 views so far. Her videos include tutorials and makeup organizing tips, among others. (Most popular video: Makeup Closet – 141 views.)

2) BigBrotherLoop.com (364 subscribers): The channel hasn’t been updated since 2010, but its more than 70 Big Brotherrelated videos are a goldmine for fans wanting to look back at the best moments from past seasons of the show. (Most popular video: Big Brother 11 – Chima Expelled – 65,417 views.)

3) The Wil Show (4,744 subscribers): The Wil Show is hosted by Wil Heuser, a 25-year-old contestant from this season of Big Brother who was evicted on Day 41 of the competition. Heuser hails from Louisville, Kentucky, and posts parodies of various celebrities, commercials and TV shows (including Big Brother!) Wil’s channel statistics are pretty impressive with nearly 1.9 million total video views so far. (Most popular video: Mom Jeans – original video – 559,386 views.)

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.